There are three express trains between Bangalore and Goa.

All the trains leave from Yesvantpur Jn in Bangalore. Two of the trains start from Yesvantpur while the other two arrive from Velankanni and Chennai for Goa. Travel time between Vasco Da Gama and Bangalore is about 14 hours.

Yesvantpur Jn to Vasco Da Gama Express

Train No 17309, Yesvantpur to Vasco Da Gama Express operates from Bangalore's Yesvantpur railway station on Tuesdays and Sundays.

Book this train from Yesvantpur ( YPR) to any of Goa's main railway stations : Vasco Da Gama ( VSG ) or Madgaon ( MAO).

Yesvantpur-Vasco Da Gama Express has stops at Castle Rock(CLR), Kulem (QLM), Sanvordem ( SVM). These are small stations, just as the train enters Goa towards Vasco Da Gama.

Those heading towards the southern or Southeastern parts of Goa many fined these stations convenient, especially Madgaon and Sanvordem.

The return train Vasco Da Gama- Yesvantpur Express ( Train No:17310) operates on Mondays and Saturdays. Leaves Vasco Da Gama, in the night & reaches Yesvantpur by noon next day.

Velankanni to Vasco Da Gama Express

This train ( Train Number : 17316 ) follows the same schedule from Yesvantpur to Goa.
But the return train, Velankanni Express ( Train Number : 17315 ), is a day running train from Goa to Yesvantpur. You'll lose a day traveling on this train ( Monday), but the bonus is, watching the train sneaking through the thickets of the western Ghats. The highlight is , this route passes right across the Dudhsagar Falls ( watch your right between 10 & 11 am).

As this pair of trains operate towards Salem side, there's a stop at Krishnarajapurm ( KJM), in the northeastern outskirts of Bangalore city.

Chennai to Vasco Da Gama Express

This train ( Train No:17311) connects Chennai with Goa, via Bengaluru. In bangalore, you can board this train from Banaswadi (BAND) or Yesvantpur stations

Bangalore to Vasco Da Gama Holiday Special

Railways operate this during the peak holiday season. Watch Out for the announcement of this train. You can book this only when it's listed for the the reservations ( in IRCTC website)

Days Train No Train Name Departure - Arrival
Tue & Sun 17309 Yesvantpur - Vasco Da Gama Express 2.30 PM - 6.00 AM
Mon & Sat 17310 Vasco Da Gama-Yesvantpur Express 9.20 PM - 13.30 PM


17316 Velankanni to Vasco Da Gama Express 2.30 PM - 6.00 AM
Mon 17315 Velankanni Express 9.00 AM - 11.30 PM


17311 Chennai - Vasco Da Gama Express 9.35 PM - 1.00 PM
Tue 17312 Chennai - Vasco Da Gama Express 2.30 PM - 5.30 AM


02683 KSR Bengaluru to Vasco Da Gama Express (only during holiday seasons) -

Check with the irctc website for updated schedules.

You may also wants to checkout the Bangalore to Goa by Road and Bangalore to Goa by Bus options.